Spanish state organisations related to air navigation operations and development.

Spanish Airline Association

The Spanish Airline Association (AECA) was founded in 1988 as an association of private airlines. In addition to providing a link between the private aviation sector and the governments, it defends the common interests of Spanish air transport.

The AECA is also constituted as a platform for carrying out activities to increase efficiency, economy and productivity in the management of aeronautical transport services in Spain.

More information:

Airline Association

The Airline Association (ALA), founded in 1952 as the FLA (Airline Federation), defends the interests of associated airlines. The main issues handled by this group are economic-financial (taxes and public prices), legal-labour, and handling practices. ALA is made up of 43 passenger transport companies, both scheduled and charter, which operate in Spain.

More information:

Association of Spanish Air Transport Companies (ACETA)

ACETA is a private non-profit legal entity covering all segments of the air transport business: regular traffic, freight, executive aviation, regional and charter. It was founded in 2004 and its mission is to defend and strengthen the interests of its member companies, contribute to the creation and development of standards and legal decisions affecting air transport and promote quality standards that meet customer expectations.

More information:

Associations of Operations Companies

The airlines that operate at each airport belong to local Associations of Operations Companies (AOC). Each of these associations belongs to the AOC of Spain.

The objectives of this group include:

  • Improved co-ordination between the different companies and airport authorities (Aena).
  • The receipt and transmission of information from the other national airline and operator associations.
  • The joint study and solving of problems related to safety, air navigation, infrastructure, traffic, and so on.
Defence-Transportation Inter-ministerial Commission

Following the creation in 1977 of the Ministry of Transport, Tourism and Communications, civil aviation responsibilities were transferred to this department from the Ministry of Defence, where they had been held until then. In 1979, an organisation was created, the Defence-Transportation Inter-ministerial Commission (CIDETRA), to allow for and facilitate co-ordination between civil and military aviation, taking into account the responsibilities of each Ministry. Currently, issues under study are sent to the commission by the Ministries of Economic Development and Defence.

Inter-ministerial Commission of International Aviation Policy

The Inter-ministerial Commission of International Aviation Policy (CIPAI) was created in 1946 and consists of senior representatives from several ministries, presided over by a representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The commission is responsible for agreements, treaties or accords regarding international air traffic and policy.

Spanish Civil Aviation Authority

The Spanish Civil Aviation Authority (DGAC) is the organisation through which the Ministry of Development manages and plans civil aeronautical policy and the carries out its administrative functions as the civil aviation authority.

The DGAC provides services in a number of fields: airlines, aeronautical training, general and recreational aviation, aeronautical agreements and relations with international organisations, customer support, research, infrastructure and aircraft manufacturing inspection.

More information:

Air Traffic Subcommittee

In order to establish an appropriate forum for co-ordination between the civil aviation administration and the users of the air navigation system, the Operational Co-ordination Committee was founded in 1986. Upon creation, it was in turn divided into five subcommittees, including the Air Traffic Subcommittee (SCA). Its mission is to co-ordinate the operational requirements identified and justified by the users.

Aena, the DGAC, the National Meteorological Institute and Spanish airlines are members of the committee.