Single European Sky

The Single European Sky is a reglementary initiative launched by the European Commission in 2004 to reform the architecture of European ATM, promoting its evolution towards a more efficient air transport system.

SES objectives include harmonisation and improved efficiency in ANS provision across the European Union by boosting air-control capacity, shoring up safety, reducing the fragmentation of the European airspace, enhancing the integration of the military sphere in our skies and facilitating the introduction of new technologies.

ENAIRE has become a project heavyweight since its establishment, spearheading a number of programmes and boosting our presence and reach across international forums.

The core initiatives of the Single European Sky project include:

  • SESAR (Single European Sky ATM Research) Programme. This programme includes the R&D phase associated with the modernisation of ATM in Europe. SESAR is the technological component of SES and, following an initial definition phase which ended in 2008, it has been in the development and deployment phase since 2009, which will continue until 2024.
  • SESAR Joint Undertaking (R&D). As a member of the SESAR Joint Undertaking, ENAIRE will engage until late 2024 in the execution of the SESAR 2020 R&D Work Programme and other additional initiatives managed by the SJU, taking part in control and governance decisions through the existing bodies.

The SESAR 2020 R&D programme has been articulated in two subphases, called respectively Wave 1 and Wave 2. In this framework, together with its affiliates and associates and the other SJU members, ENAIRE will work on the projects awarded to it as a result of bids submitted to Wave 1 (2016-2019) and those it will be awarded in the future in Wave 2, tweaking its strategy in line with iTEC (the future flight data and control position processing system that it is the upshot of cooperation between ENAIRE, German provider DFS and Britain’s NATS) plans and strategies and coordinating its participation with the other A6 ANSPs.

Following the bid selection process for SESAR 2020 Wave 1, ENAIRE was selected to engage in the implementation of 19 large-scale R&D projects and demonstrations needed to deliver the most advanced service levels established in the European ATM Master Plan.

  • SESAR Deployment Manager. The SESAR Programme’s deployment phase began in December 2014 with the appointment of the European Commission to the consortium formed by A6 members and airline and airport associations, the SESAR Deployment Alliance (SDA), as a SESAR Deployment Manager (SDM) for the synchronised deployment of SESAR infrastructure through to 2020. ENAIRE has also engaged in the successive annual calls intended to subsidise the implementation of projects and which were launched by the Innovation and Networks Executive Agency, the European body which, among other matters, facilitates the interconnection of European transport networks, in the years 2014, 2015 and 2016.

As a member of the SDA Consortium, ENAIRE engages in the synchronisation of the implementation and deployment of SESAR projects which will enjoy a Community subsidy for the 2014-2020 period of between €2 and €2.3 billion (Connecting Europe Facility funds).

ENAIRE’s participation in deployment management helps develop the internationalisation process of its activity, bringing to its service portfolio experience that it can leverage for future development opportunities.

Strategically it makes it possible to contribute to the definition and evolution of the SES Deployment Programme, therefore minimising the impact on the organisation’s investment plans.

June 2017 saw the SDA Consortium, as provided for under its foundation agreement, established as a legal organisation based out of Belgium as a not-for-profit international association of which ENAIRE is a founding member. The international association is scheduled to take up the role of deployment manager as of 1 January 2018.

  • European projects deployment. ENAIRE will continue to engage in SESAR planning and deployment activities through the different mechanisms and processes launched by the European Commission. In particular:
    • European ATM Master Plan update: new edition 2018. European ATM Master Plan levels 2 and 3 annual update, including the elements that must reach the level of maturity needed to become medium-term implementation objectives.
    • Coordination of the annual process of preparing the Local Single Sky Implementation (LSSIP) document for Spain, setting forth the planning of all the national agents involved.
    • Contribution to the monitoring of the Deployment Programme (DP) drafted by the Deployment Manager through progress monitoring of ENAIRE projects for Pilot Common Project (PCP) implementation.
  • South West FAB. Following a long history of collaboration on air traffic management matters between Spain and Portugal, the South West Functional Airspace Block (SW FAB) was formally established on 17 May 2013 with the signing of an agreement by the two States. The signing of this agreement created a formal setting in which the two countries work with the aim of establishing the most effective measures to deliver on the Single European Sky. SW FAB is one of the nine European airspace blocks.

Major progress has been made in this field of collaboration, including the preparation of the SW FAB Operational Board Common Plan (SW FAB OB CP), first presented to the European Commission on 25 November 2013 and which is an exhaustive technical/operational compendium of the principal projects of action aligned with SW FAB compliance with the obligations arising from the implementation of the FABs.

The SW FAB 2015-2019 Performance Plan (SOWEPP) has also been prepared by Spain and Portugal in compliance with Regulation (EU) 390/2013. It contains the objectives and associated actions that SW FAB is committed to and is the cornerstone of the monitoring and control activities performed by the European Commission and the Spanish supervisory authority AESA and its Portuguese counterpart ANAC both at the FAB and national levels.

  • AEFMP Agreement. Multilateral actions between Algeria, Spain, France, Morocco, Portugal and Tunisia are managed as part of the AEFMP to encourage the harmonisation of communications, navigation and surveillance (CNS) and air traffic management (ATM) service provision in the area of influence of these countries’ service providers. All the work is done in accordance with the international planning framework established by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and the European Union.

The AEFMP agreement covers the following areas:

  • Technical and operational enablers
  • Deployment activity harmonisation
  • Systems interoperability
  • Air traffic flow optimisation
  • Systems interconnection
  • ENAIRE holds the AEFMP chair in 2017